Satellite Room

Someone gave me a cold…not pointing fingers, but I’m going to suspect it was Friday night in Dupont, because really, Sign of the Whale is kind of disgusting/people use the dance floor as a bedroom/people seem to be unaware of personal boundaries there.  Shame on me for venturing there again, haha.  Anyway, good thing IntoxiKatie is resilient and already feeling better.  Just my own PSA with the menacing flu season upon us: let’s all be a bit more considerate when we are at overcrowded bars and practice good personal hygiene.  Now, moving on to my real review…

 

“Katie, are you sure you know where you’re going?”

Despite initial fears that I was leading my friend to a back alley to kill her, last Saturday night we found our way past the throng of Delta Rae fans to Satellite Room.  Located conveniently behind 9:30 Club, this bar is especially perfect for those looking for a place to kill time before or after a show.  Arriving just after 8pm, we managed to grab a couple stools at the bar.  The wait for a table was estimated at 30 minutes.  It was pretty much decided upon entering that I loved this establishment.  Luckily, my expectations that I manifested purely from the aesthetic and feel of the bar proved themselves over the course of the evening (self-fulfilling prophecy? probably).

The first thing you see walking in is the large light-up sign above the bar, ‘Satellite.’  The inside bar accommodates about 15 people; just the right size.  While there are a handful of tables inside, there is a much larger outside patio/bar area for those just looking to drink and mingle.  We only stepped outside for a moment to investigate.  It was still kind of chilly that night and the outside atmosphere was different from inside.  While the volume level inside was just right for our group of three to engage in good conversation, outside required more effort to hear one another.  Wow, as I finished writing that sentence I saw myself age 30 years, haha.  Volume aside, the outside area did still leave a fun and jovial impression that would be good if coming here with a larger group of friends.  If you have a smaller group, my preference would definitely be inside.

Arriving early was a good choice, because it quickly got crowded.  Luckily, it didn’t take too long to get in our orders for food and drink.  So for those of you that are not aware, Satellite Room’s specialty drinks are milkshakes.  While you can virginize them, who doesn’t love a good boozy milkshake?!  Starting with the Vincent Vega (vanilla shake with bourbon) and progressing to the Sammy and Kim (black & white with vodka) these milkshakes are on the pricey side ($10), but worth it.  The Frank Costello (chocolate mint with whiskey) and Lucy Ricardo (chocolate with johnny walker) were hints with my friends.  Yes, all the milkshakes has great names like these.  Food here was also quite tasty and fairly priced ($11 tacos and $8 burger dinners).

Mmm, Vincent Vega

Having only attended Satellite Room once, I’m not sure how much the clientele here is dependent on the type of concert at 930 that night.  Either way, I will definitely be back to booze it up with some milkshakes.  Great for a small group, this could also be a fun date spot or a good place to start or end the night.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment